Definition Of

The 1938 Fair Labor Standards Act

The Fair Labor Standards Act, originally passed in 1938 and since amended many times, covers most employees, contains minimum wage, maximum hours, overtime pay, equal pay, record keeping, and child labor provisions that are familiar to most working people. In addition, agricultural workers and those employed by certain larger retail and service companies are included.

Share it:

More from this Section

  • Impact ratio
    Impact ratio refers to selection rate, for an employment opportunity, for a group of people in a protected class, divided by the selection rate for the group with the
  • Direct costs
    Direct costs can be defined as the costs directly attributed to a particular products, programs or activities.
  • Human resource management system
    Human resource management system is a software application combining various human resource functions, such as benefits, payroll, recruiting, training, etc., into one package.
  • Picketing
    Picketing- having employees carry signs announcing their concerns near the employer’s place of business, is one of the first activities to occur during a strike.
  • Operating budget
    Operating budget is the detailed projection of all projected income and expenses during a specified future period.
  • Lockout
    A lockout is a refusal by the employer to provide opportunities to work; it (sometimes literally) locks out employees and prohibits them from doing their jobs (and being paid).
  • Intermittent reduced schedule leave
    Intermittent/reduced schedule leave refers to under FMLA, intermittent and reduced schedule leave is used to describe leave that is not taken on a consecutive basis