Maslow’s hierarchy of needs theory

Maslow was a psychologist who proposed that within every person is a hierarchy of five needs:

  1. Physiological needs- a person’s needs for food, drink, shelter, sex, and other physical requirements.
  2. Safety needs- a person’s needs for security and protection from physical and emotional harm, as well as assurance that physical needs will continue to be met.
  3. Social needs- a person’s needs for affection, belongingness, acceptance, and friendship.
  4. Esteem needs- a person’s needs for internal esteem factors, such as self-respect, autonomy and achievement, and external esteem factors, such as status, recognition, and attention.
  5. Self-actualization- a person’s needs for growth, achieving one’s potential, and self-fulfillment; the drive to become what one is capable of becoming.

Maslow’s theory that there is a hierarchy of five human needs: physiological, safety, social, esteem, and self-actualization.

Share it:  Cite

More from this Section

  • Industry Boundaries
    Industry boundaries helps executives determine the arena in which their firm is competing,focuses ...
  • Norming stage
    The norming stage is one in which close relationships develop and the group becomes cohesive. ...
  • Agency costs
    The cost of agency problems and the cost of actions taken to minimize agency problems ...
  • Organization change
    Organization change which is any alteration of people, structure, or technology in an ...
  • Means-ends chain
    Higher-level goals (or ends) are linked to lower-level goals, which serve as the means ...