Definition Definition

Standard Occupational Classification (SOC)

The Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) classifies all workers into one of 23 major groups of jobs.Such as:

→ Management Occupations

→ Business and Financial Operations 

→ Computer and Mathematical Occupations

→ Architecture and Engineering Occupations

→ Life, Physical and social service Occupations

→ Community and social services Occupations

→ Legal Occupations

→ Education, Training and Library Occupations

→ Arts,Design, Entertainment, Sports and Media Occupations

→ Health Care Practitioners and Technical Occupations

→ Health Care Support Occupations

→ Protective Service Occupations

→ Food Preparation and Serving-Related Occupations

→ Building and Grounds Cleaning and Maintenance Occupations

→ Personal Care and Service Occupations

→ Sales and Related Occupations

→ Office and Administrative Support Occupations

→ Farming, Fishing and Forestry Occupations

→ Construction Extraction Occupations

→ Installation, Maintenance, and Repair Occupations

→ Production Occupations

→ Transportation and Material Moving Occupations

→ Military Specific Occupations

 Within these major groups are 96 Minor groups, 449 broad occupations, and 821 detailed occupations.


Share it: CITE

Related Definitions